Presbyterian Programs
Auburn Theological Seminary is the second oldest seminary affiliated with the Presbyterian Church (USA). It was founded in 1818 to train Presbyterian pastors for churches on the frontier that was then expanding westward from upstate New York.
Today, Auburn maintains a covenant agreement with the Presbyterian Church (USA) to promote strong church leadership in the 21st century by:
  • • Supporting students both academically and through their seminary faith journey.  Auburn's Presbyterian Students Program is for students at Union Theological Seminary, an independent seminary that historically has a strong contingent of Presbyterian students;

    • Offering theological training for Presbyterian leadership. The New York Institute of the Laity provides the coursework necessary for those seeking to serve the church as Commissioned Lay Pastors;

    • Providing a range of non-degree theological education programs for Presbyterian ministers, elders, and laypeople, with a particular emphasis on those located in New York State.

    • Acting as a resource for the Presbyterian Church (USA) by providing programs and research on topics related to Presbyterian church leadership.